Interview with Women’s Health Mag.com!

I was 25 years old when I had my hysterectomy for adenomyosis in December 2014.
The average woman who undergoes a hysterectomy here in the U.S. will be between 40-45 years old. Even in support forums and Facebook groups, I felt really young compared to the women who spoke of being in their mid 40s when they parted ways with their uterus.
It was difficult for me to cope with being nearly 2 decades younger than most women who have had a hysterectomy. My mom still has her uterus, as does my mother-in-law so, while they were supportive, they couldn’t exactly relate to what I was going through.
It’s an odd experience when your mom still has a period and you don’t.

Now don’t get me wrong – my (not so dearly departed) boggy, dysfunctional uterus was wreaking havoc on my life – all kinds of fun things like blood clots, labor equivalent contractions, feeling like I was carrying around a burning bowling ball in my pelvis – so I’ll be honest and say I don’t miss the thing and have no regrets about having it evicted.
I happily snicker right down the pad and tampon aisle and am not at all dismayed by the fact that I won’t ever be needing those again.

That said though, it’s a serious adjustment to come to terms with the surgery itself, the recovery from said surgery, the hormonal insanity that comes with “ovarian shock” (thankfully temporary for me – my ovaries resumed regular function within a short time after the surgery), and the loss of fertility just to name a few.

Over time, I’ve connected with a few women who have also had hysters for adenomyosis in their mid 20s and it’s been quite nice to have those in my life who “get it”. Those who have “been there, done that”. As such (and also largely because I have a big mouth and am not afraid to use it), I’ve been very open about my experiences in the hopes that it helps the next woman who is faced with the same decision. I was recently given the opportunity to speak with WomensHealthMag.com and was thrilled when they decided to write an article about what it’s like to have a hysterectomy at 25. My hope is that it will reach women out there who are dealing with or have dealt with early hysterectomy and let them know that they are not alone.

#BreakTheSilence
#YouAreNotAlone
#WomenMustHelpOtherWomen

About ducksinarow55

Wife. Mommy. Endometriosis/Adenomyosis/Bell's Palsy warrior. Advocate for advanced excision surgery as the gold standard treatment for endometriosis. My posts will include my personal journey with both endometriosis and adenomyosis, as well as links to resources by reputable endometriosis/adenomyosis sites (ie. Endometriosis Research Center, World Endometriosis Research Foundation, etc). Follow me on twitter - twitter.com/rlgibson
This entry was posted in Health and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

